Posted in Digital Photography, Life, Photography

ABS-Always be shooting, ALWAYS BE SHOOTING!!

Round Lake in Monroe, NY on a foggy afternoon.
Round Lake in Monroe, NY on a foggy afternoon.

Good morning,

One of my passions has been mobile photography. This year, I have joined up with some family to shoot a mobile image daily. Thus far, I have been able to live up to the commitment. Having the mindset to “always be shooting” has really changed my life. My commute, my home, everything around me is constantly being framed and composed.

Alec Baldwin has a small role in a fantastic movie called Glengarry Glen Ross. Literally he is in the movie for 5 minutes at the start of the play made into a movie. He steals the entire movie. He stresses to a beleaguered group of real estate salesmen the necessity to be “closers”. “Always be closing. ALWAYS BE CLOSING!!”

When you do anything for 21 days you form a habit of it-at least that is what I heard. Shooting daily now has become a great habit. It changes your outlook on the mundane. You are constantly looking for something worth shooting. It is extremely difficult early on since there are things you walk past in your life that just dont look worthy. Shoot it anyway. The worst that can happen is that you delete.

Below are the original and edited submission of an image that has spurred a creative streak in me. This on the shore of Round Lake in Monroe, NY on a VERY foggy afternoon. It was selected by Flickr to be on it Explore page that day-something that has never happened before. It has sparked my desire to finish a short story that I have had in my head. 2013-01-12 12.42.14
These image was shot with a iPhone 5 and edited in Snapseed and Noise Master.

Always be shooting,

Dave


Author:

Hello and welcome. I am a NY based photographer that subscribes to Phototgrapher Rick Sammons' concept of "specializing in not specializing". I want to shoot anything and everything. With that said, shooting street photography has become a passion, an obsession, and recently, a movement. "Street is to photography what Jazz is to music" - Dave Ortiz Life is all about demonstrating passion and it's this passion that I strive toward memorializing in my images. There is beauty everywhere even in the mundane and it's isolating those moments or expressions creatively that makes all of the difference.

Leave a Reply

